Skip to main content
Part of complete coverage on

Living on the edge: The Middle East's most endangered animals

By Dean Irvine, CNN
updated 12:41 PM EDT, Mon June 9, 2014
Even the most inhospitable areas of the Middle East are home to some amazing wildlife. However, many species in the region are on the brink of extinction. We look at some of the animals struggling for survival and classified as "critically endangered" according to the International Union for Conservation of Nature. Click on the images to find out more, and share your wildlife photos on iReport.

Editor's note: Read a version of this story in Arabic.

(CNN) -- Viewing this on a mobile device? Click here for mobile version.

ADVERTISEMENT
Part of complete coverage on
updated 10:46 PM EST, Tue November 4, 2014
Robot dinosaurs, Lego men and Spider-Man all could become Dubai's newest residents.
updated 10:18 AM EDT, Tue October 28, 2014
Not long ago camel milk was an unfancied staple, the preserve of Bedouin herders. Now its becoming a luxury.
updated 10:12 PM EDT, Wed October 8, 2014
Managing over 2 million people during the Hajj takes some serious technology.
updated 2:11 AM EDT, Tue October 7, 2014
More needs to be done so women from Saudi Arabia can become world champions in sports.
updated 1:29 PM EDT, Thu October 30, 2014
Is nothing sacred? How tech allows narcissism to run riot.
From the waters of the Persian Gulf a new mega museum is emerging.
updated 7:03 AM EDT, Fri September 26, 2014
Where better to start a record-breaking solar powered flight than the desert?
updated 10:27 AM EDT, Wed September 24, 2014
Ahmed Eldin is the 18-year-old behind the prog-rock band's new album cover. Shine on you crazy diamond.
updated 7:53 AM EDT, Wed September 17, 2014
The Humans of New York photo project exposes the hopes and fears of ordinary people in Iraq and Jordan.
updated 10:06 PM EDT, Tue September 9, 2014
Dubai's appetite for construction continues with multi-billion dollar boost to build the world's largest airport.
updated 11:02 PM EDT, Mon September 8, 2014
The UAE is becoming a hub for plastic surgery with more Emiratis going under the knife each year.
updated 7:20 AM EDT, Thu August 21, 2014
Meet Erdal Inci, a digital artist from Turkey who is transforming the medium.
updated 9:39 AM EDT, Thu August 14, 2014
Iran is pumping billions of dollars into a scheme to save a lake. What's so important about it?
ADVERTISEMENT