NFL Pro Bowl Fast Facts

(CNN)Here is some background information about the NFL Pro Bowl, the all-star game of the National Football League.

January 25, 2015 - The 45th Pro Bowl is played at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. The team led by Michael Irvin defeats the team led by Cris Carter, 32-28.

The Pro Bowl has been played every year but two since 1980 in the 50,000 seat Aloha Stadium in Honolulu.

    In 1971, the NFC beat the AFC in the first Pro Bowl, played in Los Angeles, 27-6.

    In 1984, 1989, and 1994, the AFC scored only three points, the fewest points of any Pro Bowl game.

    In 2013, the NFC team scored the most points of any Pro Bowl game with 62.

    David Akers (Philadelphia Eagles and San Francisco 49ers) holds the Pro Bowl record for scoring the most points, with 57 (over Pro Bowl career).

    Larry Fitzgerald (Arizona Cardinals) holds the record for most touchdowns with eight.

    July 31, 2013 - The NFL announces changes in the player selections process. Instead of the National Football Conference (NFC) playing the American Football Conference (AFC), Pro Bowl team members will be drafted by fans, coaches, and players in a fantasy-style format regardless of conference.

    Before the team selection formatting change that began with the 2014 game, the NFC led the AFC in Pro Bowl wins, with 22.

    January 21-22, 2014 - The first NFL Bowl draft is held. Alumni team captains are Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders.

    January 26, 2014 - The team led by Jerry Rice defeats the team led by Deion Sanders 22-21 in the first unconferenced NFL Pro Bowl.

    Hall of Famers Cris Carter and Michael Irvin are the team captains for 2015.

    2015 Roster:

    Michael Irvin's team


    Quarterbacks: Tony Romo, Dallas; Matt Ryan, Atlanta; Matthew Stafford, Detroit.

    Running backs: C.J. Anderson, Denver; Mark Ingram, New Orleans, DeMarco Murray, Dallas (captain).

    Wide receivers: Odell Beckham Jr., New York Giants; Golden Tate, Detroit; Emmanuel Sanders, Denver; Randall Cobb, Green Bay.

    Tight ends: Jimmy Graham, New Orleans; Jason Witten, Dallas.

    Fullback: Marcel Reece, Oakland.

    Tackles: Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Tyron Smith, Dallas; Trent Williams, Washington.

    Guards: Kyle Long, Chicago; Zack Martin, Dallas; Marshal Yanda, Baltimore.

    Centers: Travis Frederick, Dallas; Nick Mangold, New York Jets.


    Defensive ends: Robert Quinn, St. Louis; Cameron Wake, Miami; DeMarcus Ware, Denver.

    Defensive tackles: Geno Atkins, Cincinnati; Aaron Donald, St. Louis; Sheldon Richardson, New York Jets.

    Outside linebackers: Elvis Dumervil, Baltimore; Clay Matthews, Green Bay; Von Miller, Denver.

    Inside linebackers: Luke Kuechly, Carolina; D'Qwell Jackson, Indianapolis.

    Cornerbacks: Vontae Davis, Indianapolis; Brent Grimes, Miami; Joe Haden, Cleveland; Chris Harris Jr., Denver.

    Safeties: Eric Weddle, San Diego, Mike Adams, Indianapolis; T.J. Ward, Denver.

    Special teams

    Punter: Kevin Huber, Cincinnati.

    Place-kicker: Adam Vinatieri, Indianapolis.

    Return specialist: Darren Sproles, Philadelphia.

    Special-teamer: Darrell Stuckey, San Diego.

    Long-snapper: L.P. Ladouceur, Dallas.

    Captain: Michael Irvin.

    Coach: Jason Garrett, Dallas.

    Cris Carter's team


    Quarterbacks: Andrew Luck, Indianapolis; Drew Brees, New Orleans; Andy Dalton, Cincinnati.

    Running backs: Jamaal Charles, Kansas City; Justin Forsett, Baltimore; Alfred Morris, Washington.

    Wide receivers: A.J. Green, Cincinnati; T.Y. Hilton, Indianapolis; Jordy Nelson, Green Bay; Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh (captain).

    Tight ends: Martellus Bennett, Chicago; Greg Olsen, Carolina.

    Fullback: John Kuhn, Green Bay.

    Tackles: Joe Staley, San Francisco; Duane Brown, Houston; Ryan Clady, Denver.

    Guards: Evan Mathis, Philadelphia; Mike Pouncey, Miami; Josh Sitton, Green Bay.

    Centers: Jason Kelce, Philadelphia; Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh.


    Defensive ends: J.J. Watt, Houston (captain); Mario Williams, Buffalo; Calais Campbell, Arizona.

    Interior defensive linemen: Marcell Dareus, Buffalo; Dontari Poe, Kansas City; Kyle Williams, Buffalo.

    Outside linebackers: Justin Houston, Kansas City; Connor Barwin, Philadelphia; Tamba Hali, Kansas City.

    Inside linebackers: C.J. Mosley, Baltimore; Lawrence Timmons, Pittsburgh.

    Cornerbacks: Patrick Peterson, Arizona; Aqib Talib, Denver; Antonio Cromartie, Arizona; Sam Shields, Green Bay.

    Safeties: Antoine Bethea, San Francisco; Glover Quin, Detroit; Donte Whitner, Cleveland.

    Special teams

    Punter: Pat McAfee, Indianapolis.

    Place-kicker: Cody Parkey, Philadelphia.

    Return specialist: Devin Hester, Atlanta.

    Special-teamer: Justin Bethel, Arizona.

    Long-snapper: Jon Dorenbos, Philadelphia.

    Captain: Cris Carter.

    Coach: John Harbaugh, Baltimore.