Academy Awards Fast Facts

(CNN)Here is some background information about the Academy Awards, also known as the "Oscars."

February 28, 2016 - The 88th Annual Academy Awards will be televised live from Hollywood on ABC, with Chris Rock hosting for a second time.

2016 Nominations (selected):
Performance by an actor in a leading role:

Bryan Cranston in "Trumbo"

    Matt Damon in "The Martian"

    Leonardo DiCaprio in "The Revenant"

    Michael Fassbender in "Steve Jobs"

    Eddie Redmayne in "The Danish Girl"

    Performance by an actress in a leading role:
    Cate Blanchett in "Carol"

    Brie Larson in "Room"

    Jennifer Lawrence in "Joy"

    Charlotte Rampling in "45 Years"

    Saoirse Ronan in "Brooklyn"

    Achievement in directing:
    "The Big Short," Adam McKay

    "Mad Max: Fury Road," George Miller

    "The Revenant," Alejandro G. Iñárritu

    "Room," Lenny Abrahamson

    "Spotlight," Tom McCarthy

    Best motion picture of the year:
    "The Big Short"

    "Bridge of Spies"


    "Mad Max: Fury Road"

    "The Martian"

    "The Revenant"



    The full list of nominees

    2015 Winners (selected):
    Best Picture:

    Best Actor: Eddie Redmayne in "The Theory of Everything"

    Best Supporting Actor: J.K. Simmons in "Whiplash"

    Best Actress: Julianne Moore in "Still Alice"

    Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Arquette in "Boyhood"

    Best Director: Alejandro G. Iñárritu for "Birdman"

    Best Animated Feature: "Big Hero 6"

    Harry Belafonte is the recipient of the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, and Jean-Claude Carrière, Hayao Miyazaki and Maureen O'Hara receive Honorary Awards at the Governors Awards.

    The full list of winners and nominees

    Other Facts:
    PricewaterhouseCoopers accounting firm has tallied the ballots since 1934. Newspaper headlines announced the winners before the ceremony until 1941 when the sealed envelope system was put in place. Now only two partners of the firm know the results until the envelopes are opened.

    Walt Disney is the most honored person in Oscar history. He received 59 nominations and 26 competitive awards throughout his career.

    Composer John Williams is the most nominated living person with 49 and 5 wins. (as of 2015)

    Meryl Streep is the most nominated performer in Academy history with 19 nominations.

    Jack Nicholson is the most nominated male performer in Academy history with 12 nominations.

    Katharine Hepburn had the most Oscar wins for a performer, with four.

    Daniel Day-Lewis is the only person to have three Best Actor Oscars.

    Tatum O'Neal is the youngest person to ever win an Oscar at 10 years, 148 days old.

    Only three films have won Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, and Best Writing: in 1934, "It Happened One Night"; in 1975, "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest"; and in 1991, "The Silence of the Lambs."

    No one film has ever taken home all six top prizes, Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress.

    Scientific and Technical Awards are given out in a separate ceremony for methods, discoveries or inventions that contribute to the arts and sciences of motion pictures.

    May 16, 1929 -
    The first Academy Awards are held in the Blossom Room at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel. Tickets cost $5.

    1929 - The first Best Picture award goes to "Wings."

    1929 - The first statuette ever presented is to Emil Jannings, for his Best Actor performance in "The Last Command."

    1937 - The first presentation of the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award is given to Darryl F. Zanuck.

    1938 - Due to extensive flooding in Los Angeles, the ceremony is delayed for one week.

    March 19, 1953 - First televised ceremony is from the Pantages Theater in Hollywood.

    1966 - The awards are first broadcast in color.

    1968 - Due to the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., the ceremony is moved forward two days as the original date is the day of King's funeral.

    1976-present - ABC broadcasts the Oscars.

    1981 - Due to the assassination attempt on President Ronald Reagan, the ceremony is postponed 24 hours.

    2001 - The Best Animated Feature Film category is added.

    June 23, 2009 - The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announces that beginning in 2010, 10 films will receive nominations in the Best Picture category, instead of five.

    June 26, 2009 - The Academy announces that beginning in 2010, new rules governing the Best Song category may eliminate that category in any given year. Also, the Thalberg and Hersholt honorary awards will be given at a separate ceremony in November.

    June 14, 2011 - The Academy announces new rules governing the Best Picture category, the number of movies nominated may vary from 5 - 10 in any given year and will not be known until the nominees are announced. The new rule goes into effect in 2012.

    November 9, 2011 - Eddie Murphy drops out as host of the Oscars in February 2012, one day after producer Brett Ratner quit the show, because of a remark he made that was considered homophobic.

    January 18, 2016 - Following criticisms two years in a row about the lack of diversity with Oscar nominees, Cheryl Boone Isaacs, the president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, issues a statement saying that "in the coming days and weeks we will conduct a review of our membership recruitment in order to bring about much-needed diversity in our 2016 class and beyond."