Chat with us in Facebook Messenger. Find out what's happening in the world as it unfolds.

U.S. Open Tennis Tournament Fast Facts

(CNN)Here's some background information about the U.S. Open Tennis Tournament.

It is held annually at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Arthur Ashe Stadium, Flushing Meadows, Queens, New York. It is the only Grand Slam tennis championship held in North America.
August 29, 2016-September 11, 2016 - The U.S. Open Tennis Tournament is scheduled to take place.
    2015 Results:
    August 12, 2015 -
    Flavia Pennetta wins the women's title, defeating fellow Italian Roberta Vinci. At 34, Pennetta is the oldest first-time winner in tournament history.
    August 13, 2015 - Novak Djokovic defeats Roger Federer for the men's singles title.
    Other Facts:
    The U.S. Open is one of four "Grand Slam" tournaments, along with the Australian Open, Wimbledon, and the French Open.
    Matches are in five categories: men's singles and doubles, women's singles and doubles, and mixed doubles.
    Since 1978, the matches have been played on a hard-court surface covered with "DecoTurf" artificial grass.
    The total base prize purse for 2015 was $42,253,400 million, with a top prize of $3.3 million for both the men's and women's singles champions.
    Most singles finals without losing:
    Richard Sears (men's) - 7 - (1881-87)
    Alice Marble (women's) - 4 - (1936, 1938-40)
    Most singles finals (win or lose):
    Bill Tilden (men's) - 10 - (1918-25, 1927, 1929)
    Molla B. Mallory (women's) - 10 - (1915-18, 1920-24, 1926)
    Most tournaments played (entire U.S. Open, not just finals):
    Vic Seixas (men's) - 28 - (1940-42, 1944, 1946-69)
    Martina Navratilova (women's) - 21 - (1973-93)
    Winner of Most Men's Singles Titles:
    Pre-1968 - Richard Sears, William Tilden, Bill Larned (tied with 7)
    Post-1968 - Jimmy Connors, Pete Sampras, Roger Federer (tied with 5)
    Winner of Most Women's Singles Titles:
    Pre-1968 - Molla B. Mallory (8)
    Post-1968 - Chris Evert, Serena Williams (tied with 6)
    Winner of Most Consecutive Men's Titles:
    Pre-1968 - Richard Sears (7)
    Post-1968 - Roger Federer (5)
    Winner of Most Consecutive Women's Titles:
    Pre-1968 - Molla B. Mallory, Helen Jacobs (4)
    Post-1968 - Chris Evert (4)
    1881 -
    Begins as a singles men's tournament, for entertainment purposes only. The United States Championship is held at The Casino in Newport, Rhode Island. Richard Sears is the first champion.
    1887 - Ellen Hansel is the first female singles winner.
    1915-1920 - The tournaments are held at West Side Tennis Club in Forest Hills, New York.
    1968 - The 'Open Era' starts. Professionals are now allowed to compete with amateurs. Name changes to the U.S. Open. Arthur Ashe is the first winner of the newly named tournament.
    1973 - The U.S. Open becomes the first Grand Slam tournament to offer equal prize money to male and female winners.
    1978 - The National Tennis Center at Flushing Meadows Corona Park becomes the site of the U.S. Open.
    1997 - The stadium used for the tournament inside the USTA National Tennis Center is named Arthur Ashe Stadium.
    2006 - The USTA National Tennis Center facility, home of the U.S. Open, is renamed the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center.