British Open Golf Tournament Fast Facts

Here's a look at the British Open.

The British Open is one of the four Grand Slam golf tournaments; the others are the Masters, the PGA Championships, and the U.S. Open.

July 13-19, 2015 - The 144th British Open Golf Championship is scheduled to return to St. Andrews in Scotland.

July 17-20, 2014 - The 143rd British Open takes place at the Royal Liverpool Golf Club. The winner is Rory McIlroy of Ireland.

156 players compete in the British Open.

The top 70 players qualify for the final 36 holes.

The winner receives the Golf Champion Trophy, nicknamed the Claret Jug, and a cash prize of £945,000 ($1.4 million) in 2013.

British Open History:
October 17, 1860 -
The first British Open is played at Prestwick, in Scotland.

Only eight men played in the first British Open.

In 1894, the British Open started adding other locations for the tournament.

Royal St. George's was the first non-Scottish club to host the British Open.

The British Open was canceled from 1915-1920 and from 1940-1946 due to the World Wars.

British Open Records (as of 7/2014):
Most wins: Harry Vardon has the most British Open wins with six. James Braid, JH Taylor, Peter Thomson, and Tom Watson all have five wins.

Most times as runner up: Jack Nicklaus has been runner-up at the British Open seven times.

Most appearances: Gary Player has appeared at the British Open 46 times.

Oldest winner: In 1867, "Old" Tom Morris Sr. became the oldest golfer to win the British Open at 46 years and 99 days old.

Youngest winner: In 1868, his son, "Young" Tom Morris Jr. became the youngest golfer to win the British Open at 17 years and 5 months old.

Oldest player: Tom Morris Sr. is the oldest player to play in the British Open at 74 years, 11 months, and 24 days, in 1896.