Skip to main content
Part of complete coverage on
 

Used bikes change kids' lives

By Matt Gannon, CNN
updated 10:01 AM EDT, Thu May 16, 2013
STORY HIGHLIGHTS

Producer's note: When Daniel Furbish started a bike workshop at a community center in Nashville, he didn't know that much about building or fixing bikes.

He did, however, know what an important tool a bike can be for a kid with little or no other means of transportation.

We met him to see how this little experiment turned into a full-time program that has helped hundreds.

ADVERTISEMENT
Part of complete coverage on
CNN Ideas
updated 11:55 PM EDT, Fri April 26, 2013
When we stumbled on Durex's Fundawear -- a long-distance, app-controlled underwear stimulator -- we simply had to investigate.
updated 9:51 AM EDT, Wed April 17, 2013
Keller Rinaudo of Romotive talks about the company's new personal, programmable robot, Romo.
updated 10:36 AM EDT, Fri April 12, 2013
There's something new on the horizon that could revolutionize this burgeoning technology: 4-D printing.
updated 9:53 AM EDT, Fri April 5, 2013
Jay Silver, inventor of MaKey MaKey, shows how to use anything to interact with computers and why that is valuable.
updated 10:00 AM EDT, Tue March 26, 2013
What if everything you thought you knew about education was wrong?
updated 6:13 PM EDT, Fri March 22, 2013
The idea of "wearable robots" may seem like something out of a movie, but this technology is already being used in real life.
updated 8:37 AM EDT, Wed October 10, 2012
You played it as a kid, but now check out this giant version of the game Mousetrap.
updated 9:55 AM EDT, Wed October 3, 2012
Brian Preston, founder of Lamon Luther, employs homeless craftsmen and helps them get back on their feet.
updated 11:43 AM EDT, Thu October 25, 2012
Kathryn DiMaria isn't quite old enough to get behind the wheel, but that hasn't stopped her from building a Fiero.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT