Olivia de Havilland Fast Facts

(CNN)Here's a look at the life of Academy Award winning actress Olivia de Havilland.

Birth date: July 1, 1916
Birth place: Tokyo, Japan
Birth name: Olivia Mary de Havilland
    Father: Walter de Havilland, a patent lawyer and teacher
    Mother: Lillian (Ruse) de Havilland, an actress
    Marriages: Pierre Galante (1955-1979, divorce); Marcus Goodrich (1946-1953, divorce)
    Children: with Pierre Galante: Gisele, 1956; with Marcus Goodrich: Benjamin, 1949-1991
    Other Facts:
    Both parents were British.
    She is the older sister of actress Joan Fontaine.
    Her mother, actress Lillian Fontaine, began encouraging the sisters' rivalry at an early age.
    Starred opposite Errol Flynn in eight films from 1935 through 1941.
    Says her most meaningful role was that of Virginia Cunningham, wife and mental patient, in "The Snake Pit."
    The long-standing feud with sister Joan Fontaine was at such a peak during an Oscar winners' reunion in 1979 that they had to be seated on opposite ends of the stage.
    She has received five Academy Award nominations and two wins and one Emmy nomination.
    1919 -
    Parents separate. Moves with mother and sister, Joan, to Saratoga, California.
    1934 - Wins a scholarship to attend Mills College in Oakland, California. Abandons college plans and has stage debut as Hermia in "A Midsummer Night's Dream" at the Hollywood Bowl appearing with Mickey Rooney.
    1935 - In her film debut, reprises role of Hermia in "A Midsummer Night's Dream" for Warner Brothers and signs a long-term contract.
    November 28, 1941 - Becomes an American citizen.
    1941 - Nominated for a Best Actress Academy Award for "Hold Back the Dawn," but loses to her sister, Joan, for "Suspicion."
    1944 - After having been suspended several times for refusal of scripts, she sues Warner Brothers studio for unfair labor practices and wins. Her actions lead to the demise of the Hollywood "studio system," where the studio maintains absolute control over an actor's career.
    1947 - Wins Best Actress Academy Award for "To Each His Own."
    1950 - Wins Best Actress Academy Award for "The Heiress."
    1962 - "Every Frenchman Has One," her book on French culture and tradition is published.
    June 15, 2006 - A tribute from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in honor of her entire career is held in Los Angeles.
    November 17, 2008 - Is a recipient of the National Medal of Arts at a White House ceremony attended by President George W. Bush and First Lady Laura Bush.
    September 9, 2010 - President Nicolas Sarkozy of France presents de Havilland with the Legion of Honor at Elysee Palace.