Skip to main content

CNN launches new show 'On China' with Kristie Lu Stout

updated 10:06 PM EST, Wed December 5, 2012
STORY HIGHLIGHTS
  • Hung Huang, influential Chinese media personality, respected publisher, blogger
  • Victor Gao, former official in the Chinese Foreign Ministry, English translator for Deng Xiaoping
  • John Pomfret, award-winning journalist and China commentator

(CNN) -- As China prepares for its most significant leadership transition in decades, CNN is launching its first ever regular series focused on the country, the first by any international television news network. The new monthly show hosted by CNN correspondent and anchor Kristie Lu Stout provides viewers with a unique insider's view of China from within its own borders.

Shot on location in Hong Kong at the historic Hullett House, in each 30-minute show Lu Stout sits down with thought and business leaders from within China's borders for a roundtable discussion about what really drives this world power and economic giant.

With China's leadership transition expected within a month, the first episode delves into the Chinese Communist Party, exploring how membership is obtained, factions within the party, the personality traits of China's presumed next leader, and the impact of the ongoing Bo Xilai scandal.

At the table helping to demystify the Chinese Communist Party is Hung Huang, a celebrated Chinese media personality and publisher brought up among China's political elite, Victor Gao, a former official in the Chinese Foreign Ministry and English translator for Deng Xiaoping and John Pomfret, award-winning journalist and China commentator.

China is a country of dramatic change, political intrigue, and dynamic economic growth.
Kristie Lu Stout

"The world is watching China more than ever and our new show delivers in-depth, intelligent insights on its economic, political and cultural drivers," said Mike McCarthy, Senior Vice President, CNN International. "We're proud to be the first international news network to dedicate a regular show to China, enabling viewers within China's borders and around the world to better understand the country and its people."

"China is a country of dramatic change, political intrigue, and dynamic economic growth," added Kristie Lu Stout, CNN anchor/correspondent and host of 'On China'. "I've been writing and reporting about China since the late 1990s, and the nation continues to fascinate me. I'm excited to host a regular discussion on current affairs and trends inside China."

When can I watch 'On China?'

First Episode: Inside the Chinese Communist Party

Wednesday, October 17 at 1730 HKT (0530 ET, 0930 GMT)

Saturday, October 20 at 1230 HKT (0030 ET, 0430 GMT)

Sunday, October 21 at 1930 HKT (0730 ET, 1130 GMT)

Saturday, October 27 at 1930 HKT (0730 ET, 1130 GMT)

Sunday, October 28 at 1230 HKT (0030 ET, 0530 GMT)

Second Episode: Chinese Consumerism

*Note that from November onwards the show will air one hour later due to the time change in the U.S.

Wednesday, November 21 at 1830 HKT (0530 ET, 1030 GMT)

Saturday, November 24 at 1330 HKT (0030 ET, 0530 GMT)

Sunday, November 25 at 2130 HKT (0830 ET, 1330 GMT)

Saturday, December 1 at 2130 HKT (0830 ET, 1330 GMT)

Sunday, December 2 at 1330 HKT (0030 ET, 0530 GMT)

Third Episode: China- U.S. Elections

Wednesday, December 19 at 1830 HKT (0530 ET, 1030 GMT)

Saturday, December 22 at 1330 HKT (0030 ET, 0530 GMT)

Sunday, December 23 at 2130 HKT (0830 ET, 1330 GMT)

Saturday, December 29 at 2130 HKT (0830 ET, 1330 GMT)

Sunday, December 30 at 1330 HKT (0030 ET, 0530 GMT)

ADVERTISEMENT
Part of complete coverage on
updated 5:29 AM EDT, Tue September 16, 2014
Christians in eastern China keep watch in Wenzhou, where authorities have demolished churches and removed crosses.
updated 1:38 AM EDT, Wed September 10, 2014
Home-grown hip-hop appeals to a younger generation but its popularity has not translated into record deals and profits for budding rap artists.
updated 1:45 AM EDT, Tue September 9, 2014
Reforms to the grueling gaokao - the competitive college entrance examination - don't make the grade, says educator Jiang Xueqin.
updated 8:18 AM EDT, Fri September 5, 2014
Beijing grapples with reports from Iraq that a Chinese national fighting for ISIS has been captured.
updated 10:00 PM EDT, Sun August 31, 2014
CNN's David McKenzie has tasted everything from worms to grasshoppers while on the road; China's cockroaches are his latest culinary adventure.
updated 8:57 PM EDT, Thu September 4, 2014
Beijing rules only candidates approved by a nominating committee can run for Hong Kong's chief executive.
updated 3:14 PM EDT, Fri August 29, 2014
China warns the United States to end its military surveillance flights near Chinese territory.
updated 11:12 PM EDT, Thu August 28, 2014
China has produced elite national athletes but some argue the emphasis on winning discourages children. CNN's Kristie Lu Stout reports
updated 1:13 AM EDT, Tue August 19, 2014
Chinese are turning to overseas personal shoppers to get their hands on luxury goods at lower prices.
updated 5:08 AM EDT, Fri August 15, 2014
Experts say rapidly rising numbers of Christians are making it harder for authorities to control the religion's spread.
updated 12:52 AM EDT, Mon August 11, 2014
"I'm proud of their moral standing," says Harvey Humphrey. His parents are accused of corporate crimes in China.
updated 3:42 PM EDT, Wed August 6, 2014
A TV confession detailing a life of illegal gambling and paid-for sex has capped the dramatic fall of one of China's most high-profile social media celebrities.
updated 12:10 AM EDT, Thu July 31, 2014
President Xi Jinping's campaign to punish corrupt Chinese officials has snared its biggest target -- where can the campaign go from here?
updated 3:12 AM EDT, Wed July 30, 2014
All you need to know about the tainted meat produce that affects fast food restaurants across China, Hong Kong, and Japan.
updated 10:30 PM EDT, Thu July 17, 2014
Some savvy individuals in China are claiming naming rights to valuable foreign brands. Here's how companies can combat them.
updated 5:11 AM EDT, Wed July 16, 2014
Is the Chinese president a true reformist or merely a "dictator" in disguise? CNN's Beijing bureau chief Jaime FlorCruz dissects the leader's policies
updated 11:44 PM EDT, Mon July 7, 2014
With a population of 1.3 billion, you'd think that there would be 11 people in China who are good enough to put up a fight on the football pitch.
ADVERTISEMENT