Academy announces key Oscars dates

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences says nominations will be announced on January 10, 2013.

Story highlights

  • Oscar nominations will be announced on January 10, 2013
  • Nominations will now be announced days before the Golden Globe Awards
  • The Academy also noted that this is the first time its members will be able to vote electronically

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced key dates for next year's 85th annual Academy Awards.

Nominations will be announced on January 10, 2013, five days earlier than had been previously planned. That means highly anticipated Oscar nominations will be revealed days before the comparatively boozier Golden Globe Awards, which air live January 13, instead of after.

Downton Abbey': Season 3 debuts in U.K.

The Academy also noted that this is the first time its members will be able to vote electronically. To help with the process, there will be assisted voting stations in Los Angeles, New York and London, and a 24-hour telephone help line during voting periods.

'Parks and Rec': Season 5 montage!

Here are the newly announced Oscar dates:

Friday, November 30, 2012: Official Screen Credits due

    Saturday, December 1, 2012: Governors Awards presentation

    Monday, December 17, 2012: Nominations voting begins

    Thursday, January 3, 2013: Nominations voting ends 5 p.m. PT

    Thursday, January 10, 2013: Nominations announced 5:30 a.m. PT, Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater

    Monday, February 4, 2013: Nominees Luncheon

    Friday, February 8, 2013: Final voting begins

    Saturday, February 9, 2013: Scientific and Technical Awards presentation

    Tuesday, February 19, 2013: Final voting ends 5 p.m. PT

    Sunday, February 24, 2013: 85th Academy Awards presentation

    See the full article at EW.com.