5 things to watch for Wednesday at the Olympics

After a historic day that saw Michael Phelps become the most decorated Olympian ever, the 2012 Summer Games promise more spellbinding drama Wednesday. Here are five things to watch for:

1) Gymnastics: A chance for redemption

Kohei Uchimura came to London as the favorite for the men's all-around title. But his disastrous final performance in the team final Monday rattled Japan and, undoubtedly, the three-time world champion's nerves.

If Uchimura cracks again, Americans Danell Leyva and John Orozco could steal the show. But both U.S. men are grappling with a devastating fifth-place finish in the team final, with uncharacteristic falls.

'Fab Five' brings home gymnastics gold

The men's individual all-around final starts at 4:30 p.m. London time (11:30 a.m. ET).

Ye Shiwen strikes gold again
Ye Shiwen strikes gold again

    JUST WATCHED

    Ye Shiwen strikes gold again

MUST WATCH

Ye Shiwen strikes gold again 02:38
PLAY VIDEO
Olympic Houses a big hit in London
Olympic Houses a big hit in London

    JUST WATCHED

    Olympic Houses a big hit in London

MUST WATCH

Olympic Houses a big hit in London 01:33
PLAY VIDEO
Olympic player expelled for racist tweet
Olympic player expelled for racist tweet

    JUST WATCHED

    Olympic player expelled for racist tweet

MUST WATCH

Olympic player expelled for racist tweet 01:09
PLAY VIDEO
Brennan: NBC acts like it's the 1950s
Brennan: NBC acts like it's the 1950s

    JUST WATCHED

    Brennan: NBC acts like it's the 1950s

MUST WATCH

Brennan: NBC acts like it's the 1950s 01:08
PLAY VIDEO

2) Cycling: Hit the road, Union Jacks

Bradley Wiggins, the first British winner of the Tour de France in its 99-year history, will be gunning for the history books again when he competes in the road cycling time trial. Wiggins has already won six medals in Olympic track cycling; one more medal would make him the most decorated British Olympian.

Wiggins won two time trials at the Tour but could be challenged by defending champion Fabian Cancellara of Switzerland, who was injured in a mighty crash during Saturday's road race. But Wiggins' bigger opponent Wednesday could be the expected blustery conditions.

How to avoid spoilers

The time trial starts at 2:15 p.m. London time (9:15 a.m. ET).

3) Swimming: Medals abound

France's Yannick Agnel has his eyes set on a fourth medal in the men's 100-meter freestyle, but he faces stiff competition from world champion James Magnussen of Australia.

American Allison Schmitt will also go for a fourth medal when the United States competes in the women's 4x200-meter freestyle relay.

Medals will also be awarded in the women's 200-meter butterfly and the men's 200-meter breaststroke.

And fresh off winning his record-breaking 19th Olympic medal Tuesday, U.S. swimmer Michael Phelps gets back in the pool Wednesday for the qualifying round of the 200-meter individual medley. Fellow American Ryan Lochte, the event's world record holder, will compete in a separate heat.

Ye Shiwen's 'unbelievable' swims talk of Olympics

The events start at 11:06 a.m. London time (6:06 a.m. ET).

4) Diving: A Chinese gold rush?

World champions Qin Kai and Luo Yutong are expected to give China its fourth diving gold Wednesday in the men's synchronized 3-meter springboard competition.

But Mexico's Yahel Castillo Huerto and Julian Sanchez Gallegos, though inexperienced as a team, could contend for a medal in the six-dive event.

The 3-meter springboard final starts at 3 p.m. London time (10 a.m. ET).

5) Tennis: The Venus and Serena show

Two-time defending Olympic champs Venus and Serena Williams are expected to unleash their prowess during a quarterfinal round of women's doubles. The American sisters will take on the Italian team of Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci.

But both the Williams sisters will have to recover quickly from singles matches earlier in the day. Serena plays Vera Zvonareva of Russia while Venus faces world No. 7 Angelique Kerber of Germany.

The doubles match begins at 2:30 p.m. London time (9:30 a.m. ET).