Skip to main content

Military scrambles jets after Obama air space violated, NORAD says

By the CNN Wire Staff
STORY HIGHLIGHTS
  • Two small aircraft violated the president's airspace, NORAD says
  • Both landed at local airports and were met by authorities
  • Obama was in Las Vegas to stump for Democratic Sen. Harry Reid
  • The president also campaigned for a Missouri candidate during a two-state swing

(CNN) -- The military scrambled two F-16 fighters jets Friday morning after two small private aircraft violated restricted air space related to President Barack Obama's visit to Las Vegas, Nevada, the North American Aerospace Defense Command said.

Both planes that violated the restricted airspace landed at nearby airports and were met by authorities, NORAD said.

The first incident occurred around 7:05 a.m. PT (10:05 a.m. ET) when the fighters jets intercepted a Cessna 210 and escorted it to the North Las Vegas Airport, NORAD said.

The second interception occurred around 7:34 a.m. PT (10:34 a.m. ET), NORAD said. That aircraft landed in Mesquite, Nevada, the military said.

No further information was immediately available.

Obama was in Las Vegas to stump for Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nevada, and to give a speech on the economy at the University of Nevada-Las Vegas.

The president also campaigned during his two-state, two-day trip for Democratic Senate candidate Robin Carnahan in Missouri.

NORAD is a joint U.S.-Canadian command responsible for the air defense of North America.

 
Quick Job Search