Skip to main content
Part of complete coverage on

World Cup lowdown on your country

  • Journalists working in the 32 qualified countries give their expert opinions
  • Watch a snappy summary of each nation's hopes in the build-up to the World Cup
  • Brazil seeking to claim a sixth title in the first tournament to be held in Africa

(CNN) -- The 2010 World Cup kicks off on June 11 with hosts South Africa taking on Mexico -- the first of 64 matches before the champions are crowned on July 11.

In the build-up to the tournament, CNN will feature video profiles of the 32 nations taking part, with expert opinions from journalists working in those countries.

Click on the name of a team above to get the lowdown on their hopes in soccer's showpiece event.

Record-holders Brazil will seek to bounce back from 2006's disappointment in Germany by claiming a sixth title, but face strong opposition from the likes of Spain, Argentina, England, the Netherlands and defending champions Italy.

Have your say on the World Cup. Click here to become a CNN Super Fan.

Group A: South Africa, Mexico Video, Uruguay, France Video.
Group B: Argentina, Nigeria Video, South Korea, Greece Video.
Group C: England, United States, Algeria, Slovenia.
Group D: Germany, Australia, Serbia Video, Ghana.
Group E: Netherlands, Denmark, Japan, Cameroon.
Group F: Italy Video, Paraguay, New Zealand, Slovakia Video.
Group G: Brazil, North Korea, Ivory Coast, Portugal.
Group H: Spain, Switzerland Video, Honduras Video, Chile Video.