Skip to main content

Michael Jackson duets with Akon, 50 Cent, Lenny Kravitz on next album

By Alan Duke, CNN
Click to play
Michael Jackson's 'Breaking News'
  • Jackson's duet with Akon "Hold My Hand" is the first single out Monday
  • The song, recorded in 2007, was leaked unfinished in 2008
  • Akon returned to the studio to finish the song
  • The full album will be released December 14

Los Angeles, California (CNN) -- A Michael Jackson duet with Akon recorded in 2007 will be released Monday morning as the first official single from the late pop star's next album, Epic Records announced Friday.

"Michael," Jackson's first album of new music in nine years, also includes duets with rapper 50 Cent and rocker Lenny Kravitz, according to Epic. It will be released on December 14.

"Hold My Hand" featuring Akon was chosen to be the first single because the estate found a handwritten note from Jackson that indicated his desire that it be the first single on his next project, the company said.

The song is familiar to Jackson fans because an unfinished version of the song leaked onto the Internet in 2008, but Akon returned to the studio to complete a new version, Epic said.

Janet Jackson opens up about Michael

"The world was not ready to hear 'Hold My Hand' when it leaked a couple years ago," Akon said. "We were devastated about it."

The song is now in "its final state," Akon said.

"It has become an incredible, beautiful, anthemic song," he said. "I'm so proud to have had the chance to work with Michael, one of my all-time idols."

The song will be unveiled on at 12:01 a.m. ET Monday and then will be available for purchase by digital download, the company said.

The 10-track album will mostly include "songs that Michael worked on recently. There are also earlier compelling tracks," Epic said. It includes "Breaking News," a song streamed online last week as a preview.

While Epic did not list the producers involved, it did provide a track list for the album:

1. Hold My Hand (Duet with Akon)

2. Hollywood Tonight

3. Keep Your Head Up

4. (I Like) The Way You Love Me

5. Monster (Featuring 50 Cent)

6. Best Of Joy

7. Breaking News

8. (I Can't Make It) Another Day (Featuring Lenny Kravitz)

9. Behind The Mask

10. Much Too Soon