Skip to main content

Obama names rest of commission to investigate Gulf oil disaster

By the CNN Wire Staff
  • President Obama names the remaining five members of a commission to investigate the BP Gulf oil disaster
  • Members include environmentalists, academics
  • Obama previously named former senator, former EPA administrator to co-chair the panel
  • Final report from commission due by end of 2010

Washington (CNN) -- President Barack Obama on Monday announced the remaining five members of a commission he appointed to investigate the BP Gulf of Mexico oil disaster.

A White House statement said Obama named Frances Beinecke, president of the Natural Resources Defense Council; Donald Boesch, president of the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Sciences; Terry Garcia, executive vice president for mission programs for the National Geographic Society; Cherry Murray, dean of the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences; and Frances Ulmer, chancellor of the University of Alaska-Anchorage.

Obama previously appointed former U.S. Sen. Bob Graham of Florida, a Democrat, and former Environmental Protection Agency administrator William Reilly, a Republican, as co-chairman of the seven-member commission.

"These individuals bring tremendous expertise and experience to the critical work of this commission," Obama said in Monday's statement. "I am grateful they have agreed to serve as we work to determine the causes of this catastrophe and implement the safety and environmental protections we need to prevent a similar disaster from happening again."

The commission established by executive order will look at how the devastating oil spill happened, how the government and BP responded, and how to avoid situations like it again in the future. Obama set a deadline of the end of 2010 for the commission to complete its work.