Skip to main content
Part of complete coverage on

Guide to South Africa's World Cup venues

  • Johannesburg will have two stadiums used in the 2010 football World Cup
  • The opening game of the World Cup will take place on June 11
  • There will be 32 teams taking part, playing at 10 different venues
  • World Cup Soccer
  • South Africa
  • FIFA
  • Soccer

(CNN) -- Football's blue riband event, the World Cup, will be staged on the African Continent for the first time, starting on June 11.

South Africa's organizers have chosen 10 venues to host the tournament's group and knockout games, with stadiums scattered all over the country.

The draw for the World Cup took place in Cape Town last December, with 32 teams competing for a place in the final at Soccer City stadium in Johannesburg on July 11.