Skip to main content

Four bids received to host Euro 2016

  • Story Highlights
  • France and Italy submit bids to host Euro 2016 football finals
  • Turkey and joint bid from Norway and Sweden are also in the running
  • 2016 finals will be first under expanded format from 16 to 24 teams
  • Next Article in World Sport »
Decrease font Decrease font
Enlarge font Enlarge font

(CNN) -- European football powerhouses France and Italy will battle it out to host the European Championships in 2016 and also face competition from Turkey and a joint bid from Norway and Sweden.

The four bids were submitted to UEFA before the official deadline of midnight on Monday and a final decision will be made in May next year.

Italy also bid for Euro 2012, which is to be joint-hosted by Poland and Ukraine, while France will hope the presence of Michel Platini as UEFA president will work in their favor.

Turkey have never hosted a major football finals, while Norway and Sweden have joined together to attempt to bring the championship finals back to Scandinavia.

The Euro 2016 finals will see the number of qualifying teams increased from 16 to 24, a move which contributed to the decision of Scotland and Wales to end their interest in staging a joint bid because of the increased level of infrastructure required.

Italy last held the European championships in 1980 and France were hosts in 1984.

Football Fanzone
Football fans, the chance to have YOUR say on CNN is here!

UEFA said in a statement issued on its Web site on Tuesday:

"France, Italy, and Turkey have informed UEFA they wish to submit a single bid, while a joint bid will be presented by Norway/Sweden.

"UEFA will now review the eligibility of the interested candidates, based on the various technical requirements relating to the potential infrastructure needed as well as any previous experience of the relevant member associations, cities and venues in organizing multi-venue sports events, before confirming the official list of bidders."

  • E-mail
  • Save
  • Print