Skip to main content
CNN Europe CNN Asia
On CNN TV Transcripts Headline News CNN International About Preferences
powered by Yahoo!

U.S. expands registration of foreign nationals

   Story Tools

Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Egypt, Eritrea, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen
Source: Immigration and Naturalization Service

WASHINGTON -- At least five more nations are being added to the list of those countries whose citizens are required to register with the U.S. government while visiting the United States.

Men 16 years of age or older from Egypt, Jordan, Bangladesh, Indonesia and Kuwait will now have to register and be fingerprinted by the Immigration and Naturalization Service by the end of March.

Previously, men from 20 countries had been required to register on a rolling deadline basis. During the first phase, which ended last month, over 400 men were detained either because they were in the country illegally or because of questions regarding their background. Most of those men were released.

Arab American groups have complained about the program, calling it a form of racial profiling. The Justice Department defends the program, saying the war on terrorism requires that they interview and register those visiting the United States.

The U.S. State Department system is called the National Security Entry-Exit Registration System, or NSEERS.

Story Tools

Top Stories
Father guilty of killing 9 of his children
Top Stories
CNN/Money: Security alert issued for 40 million credit cards
© 2004 Cable News Network LP, LLLP.
A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you.
Read our privacy guidelines. Contact us.
external link
All external sites will open in a new browser. does not endorse external sites.