Skip to main content
ad info Books - News
  Editions | myCNN | Video | Audio | Headline News Brief | Feedback  

4:30pm ET, 4/16


Newbery, Caldecott, King awards announced


(CNN) -- Richard Peck, David Small, Jacqueline Woodson and Bryan Collier are being honored at the American Library Association's (ALA) annual mid-winter meeting, this year in Washington D.C.

The authors and illustrators have been named the recipients of the top ALA awards recognizing the best in children's literature.

Announced this morning at the conference:

-- Peck was named the winner of the 2001 John Newbery Medal honoring the most distinguished writing in children's literature for his novel "A Year Down Yonder" (Dial Books for Young Readers). This book is a sequel to Peck's "A Long Way From Chicago," which won a Newbery runner-up honor in 1998.

  • Complete list of Newbery Medal winners
  • Complete list of Caldecott Medal winners
    NOTE: Pages will open in a new browser window

    -- Small won this year's Randolph Caldecott Medal for most distinguished children's picture book. He illustrated "So You Want To Be President?" (Philomel).

    -- Jacqueline Woodson, who wrote "Miracle's Boys" (G.P. Putnam's Sons), and Bryan Collier, who created pictures for "Uptown" (Henry Holt), won this year's Coretta Scott King Awards recognizing authors and illustrators of African descent.

    -- Winners of Newbery Honors: "Hope Was Here," by Joan Bauer; "The Wanderer" by Sharon Creech; "Because of Winn-Dixie" by Kate DiCamillo; and "Joey Pigza Loses Control," by Jack Gantos.

    -- Winners of Caldecott Honors: "Casey at the Bat: A Ballad of the Republic Sung in the Year 1888," illustrated by Christopher Bing, written by Ernest Lawrence Thayer; "Click, Clack, Moo: Cows that Type," illustrated by Betsy Lewin, written by Doreen Cronin; and "Olivia," written and illustrated by Ian Falconer.

    The ALA awards are considered the premiere American honors in children's literature.

    Words on winning words

    Peck's "A Year Down Yonder" follows 15-year-old Mary Alice as she is sent to live with her feisty, larger-than-life grandmother in rural Illinois. It's during her visit that the two grow to respect each other.

    Richard Peck's
    Richard Peck's "A Year Down Yonder" is the 2001 Newbery Medal winner  

    "Peck's characters are fully realized, from the quiet widow nursing her war-injured son, to Maxine Patch, running outside of Grandma's house draped only in the biggest snake outside of Brookfield Zoo," said Caroline S. Parr, chair of the Newbery selection committee.

    Small's "So You Want To Be President?", written by Judith St. George, presents an assortment of facts about the qualifications and characteristics of U.S. presidents.

    "In illustrations rendered in a harmonious mix of watercolor, ink, and pastel chalk, David Small employs wiry and expansive lines with an echo of political cartooning investing this personable history of the presidency with imaginative detail, wry humor, and refreshing dignity," the ALA writes on its Web site.

    Woodson's "Miracle's Boys" is set in contemporary Harlem and tells the story of the struggle of three brothers coping with the death of their parents.

    "Woodson's poetic and sensitive narrative portrays complex characters who display unconditional love for each other," said Pauletta Brown Bracy, chair of the King Awards Jury.

    book cover

    Collier, meantime, writes and illustrates in "Uptown" a confident young boy's journey in his Harlem neighborhood.

    "Collier's innovative collage illustrations combine photographs and paint to create architecture, urban landscape and people in an original way," Bracy said. "Through his positive and pride-filled look at contemporary Harlem, he builds form using textual pieces of cut-paper collage, patterns, shapes and even chocolate bars juxtaposed in a vibrant array of color and character."

    Named after 18th-century British bookseller John Newbery, the Newbery Medal has been handed out since 1922.

    The Caldecott, named after 19th-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott, began in 1938.

    The Coretta Scott King Award is named after the widow of Dr. Martin Luther King.

    'Bud, Not Buddy' wins Newbery, King awards
    January 17, 2000
    Author follows Newbery honor with new novel for young readers
    September 21, 1999

    American Library Association

    Note: Pages will open in a new browser window
    External sites are not endorsed by CNN Interactive.


    Back to the top